4 comments on “White-crowned Sparrow

  1. You’re having a lot of luck with that Tamron lens. I haven’t been able to get the same kinds of results, to tell you the truth. Don’t know if it’s because I tried to use it to capture movement and just couldn’t make that work very well, or because I didn’t give it a chance past the 2nd or 3rd try. The Canons I work with don’t have that kind of reach, but they seem to hold the light better by comparison. Now that the summer months are coming, and there’s plenty of light to go around, maybe I’ll haul that whale out again and give it another go.

    Like

    • It has taken a while to get used to it Charles. It is very heavy for me, and I don’t use a tripod very much, so sometimes it is hard for me to hold the camera securely. But I am learning! I really enjoy the reach, so I will continue to practice. Maybe I should throw in some weight lifting with too:)

      Like

  2. Add a teleconverter and you can start taking pictures of animals on other planets. Um, well, at some great distance, anyway. Incidentally, if you want to see what I’ve been up to since I stopped posting on Trover, I added a gallery of shots called “For the Birds,” and have posted it here: http://www.shootthesun.com/weblog/?page_id=234. There are some new species there, and, of course, all the usual suspects. No herons or egrets yet, now that I review it. I’ll need to correct that shortly.

    Like

Leave a comment